Sandbar Seafood & Spirits
TOES IN THE SAND DINING WITH THE FRESHEST SEAFOOD ON THE ISLAND
The history of the Sandbar dates back to the earliest development of Anna Maria
Island. In 1911, the Anna Maria City Pier was built on the bayside. Visitors came by ferry from Tampa and St. Petersburg and disembarked at the City Pier, with most making a short hike down Pine Avenue to Gulf side bath house known as the Pavilion. This is where the tradition of entertainment and relaxation, that continues today, began. Locals and visitors alike continue to gather at the site over the years through a succession of owners and renovations which includes a bar and later a dining room. The Sandbar was purchased in 1979 by a group which included Ed Chiles, its present owner. Many renovations and improvements have been made since that time including an outdoor Gulf front deck. We are fortunate to be the stewards of this great location! Our goal is to create great memories for our guests while continuing the rich tradition that is hallmark of this internationally renowned restaurant.
Beach House Waterfront Restaurant
GULF VIEW DINING WITH LOCALLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS
In 1993, Ed Chiles bought the old Harbor House, remodeled it and changed the name to the Beach House. It became a big hit with visitors and locals. From the beautiful waterfront setting to the warm family atmosphere, it is already seeing a second generation of visitors coming and making it their favorite spot on the island. The Beach House is also a nationally recognized destination for beach weddings. Menus featuring fresh, local seafood and farm fresh produce are available in our air conditioned dining room or on our expansive temperature controlled Gulf front deck featuring a beachfront bar and sunken lounge area. This incredible location prides itself on serving local, sustainable and authentic menu items with spectacular views that are sure to delight every member of the family.
Mar Vista Dockside & Pub
BAY VIEW DINING WITH AMBIANCE AND OLD FLORIDA CHARM
The Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant represents one of the most historical properties on Longboat Key. It was built in 1913 by Rufus P. Jordan, who platted the town of Longbeach, as Longboat Key was known in those days. The site housed a bait shop and was a stopping off point for out of town fisherman in the 1940’s as well as a destination for steamers bringing supplies to the key from Tampa. Being accessible not only by car but by virtually any type of watercraft makes it one of the most unique and popular restaurants and watering holes on Longboat Key. Waterfront dining under the ancient Buttonwood trees is a magical experience that has brought guests back time and time again. Diners can enjoy fresh, local seafood, organically grown farm produce and sustainable land fare. Recent renovations have enhanced the ambiance of this local treasure.